Fake ACRE or FAACRE

Party-approved discussion of ArmA 3

Fake ACRE or FAACRE

Postby Grumpy » Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:15 pm

Thought I'd make a simple guide to setting up TS so it sounds like ACRE. Not only does it sound tacticool, but it makes fireteam vs squad comms easier to distinguish!

1. Setup TS.
http://www.folkarps.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=998

2. Download and install the CrossTalk plugin for TS. This will give you a nice static effect. This decreases the voice volume slightly so you might need to boost it a couple db.
https://github.com/thorwe/CrossTalk/releases

3. Copy the wisper_notify, mic_click_off, and mic_click_on wav files to Program Files\TeamSpeak 3 Client\sound\ folder. NOTE! This will overwrite your default sounds. There should be a way to setup a new sound pack if you care about keeping the default sounds. I only use TS with FolkArps so it's not something I've looked into. The sounds are taken from a video, not directly ripped from ACRE, so they're not super clean, but they're not too bad either. Not wanting to step on any copyright toes I also messaged NouberNou and he said it was ok if I shared them with FA.

4. Make sure "Own client plays mic clicks" and "Other client play mic clicks" are checked in TeamSpeak/Options/Playback

Optional

5. Uncheck all the boxes in TeamSpeak/Options/Notifications, This will get rid of the "User left your channel messages"

6. Setup a keyboard shortcut for toggling the effect. It sounds strange while slotting or limbo so I only like it on in game. I use one key, Pause, to toggle CrossTalk and Toggle Sound Mute (TS/Options/Hotkeys/Add/Show Advanced Options/Sounds/Toggle Sound Mute)

7. Enjoy
Attachments
FAACRE.zip
(103.15 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
Last edited by Grumpy on Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Grumpy
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 4:31 am

Re: Fake ACRE or FAACRE

Postby SuicideKing » Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:57 pm

Boberro had a working version, see attachment.
Attachments
FAACRE.zip
(103.15 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
themiddlevoid.wordpress.com
User avatar
SuicideKing
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 1:29 pm
Location: India/Netherlands

Re: Fake ACRE or FAACRE

Postby Grumpy » Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:14 pm

Crosstalk now points to github. Not sure what changed, but Crosstalk has been crashing with the last couple of TS releases so I had to disable it. Mic clicks still work fine, but you don't get the static. :(
Grumpy
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 4:31 am

Re: Fake ACRE or FAACRE

Postby Costno » Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:55 pm

Neat guide.

I also found out recently you can put all Ts3 traffic in one ear, without any plugins!

While in a teamspeak channel (you must do this in every channel AFAIK), right click on the channel name and open the 3d sound menu:
Image

Then in the menu just drag your icon to one of the sides, in this case I dragged myself far right because I like Ts3 traffic in my left ear.
Image
User avatar
Costno
Host
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:13 pm
Location: Coming up Milhouse


Return to ArmA 3: Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron