The frugal comrade's guide to video recording

Party-approved discussion of ArmA 3
wolfenswan

The frugal comrade's guide to video recording

Post by wolfenswan »

This guide is meant as an aid to setup a simple, working and most importantly free video recording solution. I'm no expert on the matter and do appreciate any feedback.

Comrade. We all know that the party's success is glorious and eternal. So called "proof" is a concept developed by the imperialist oppressors trying to silence our rightful celebrations. Cleverly they have barred us from the tools of proof-creation by putting a price-tag on them. But now, their time is over!

Read the guide comrade and learn how to record the party's progress in fantastic acceptable quality!

What you'll need
1. Windows Movie Maker/VirtualDub
I can hear the sneers of the media designers, but all we want to do is compress a recorded video into MP4 for Youtube. Thus, the free Windows Movie Maker it is. Technically inclined comrades can also use the free and more complex VirtualDub but as my comrade grandmother used to say: Why use a tractor if you can use a horse? Of course the horse died the same month and my comrade grandmother's family died due to famine but that's besides the point.

2. Open Broadcasting Software
OBS is a free and straightforward streaming tool, which can also be configured to save directly to your HDD. Even better, it supports up to two PTT keys, which is very useful given our communication structure. It's not gonna record your quadruple HD 52k video but it's perfectly fine for 1080p.

Configuring OBS
1. Broadcasting settings:
Not much to do here, besides setting it to file output and selecting a directory.

2. Encoding configuration
Generally you want to record in your native resolution.
These are the settings I'm happy with, but you might want to experiment with the bit-rate to find a compromise between perfomance and quality that works best for you.

3. Other configuration