Our server, K19-III, what is it?

Party-approved discussion of ArmA 3

Our server, K19-III, what is it?

Postby Bodge » Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:51 pm

A bunch of people have been asking more specifics about the server, so figured would put some more detail here. If you know of a better deal or have comments then either post in here or contact a host.

We are currently running a
Intel Xeon E3 1245 @3.4ghz
Windows Server 2008
32Gb ram
2 x 128gb SSDs with 500gb network drive
100Mbps bandwidth

other things! Probably.

Oh it is situated in northern france too
User avatar
Bodge
Host
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 6:36 pm

Re: Our server, K19-III, what is it?

Postby SuicideKing » Sun Jan 24, 2016 11:19 am

I talked to Snippers about what 1Tac is using, and they're using:
i7 4770, 32gb of Ram, 1gigabit connection (200mbit guranateed)

for EU 50/month, or 600 per year. That's way better than what we're using.

He's recommended this configuration from a German host.

You're looking at higher clocks, higher IPC, same thread/core config and much faster DMI on the CPU side. 2x256 GB SSDs in RAID1, faster network adapter. Backup space is lower - but i don't know how much we use. There's also 64GB of DDR4, and while I don't think we need that much for Arma, the bandwidth boost should help.

I guess you'll be able to customize it (I don't know), maybe trade RAM for storage or something - like this configuration from the same guys.

It's 46.41 EU per month, or 556.92 EU for a year. That's £421 including taxes. Add 94 EU for installation charges, and you're still under £500. (EDIT: +25 EU per month for Windows Server - thanks intel64gamer)

Compare:
Intel® Xeon® Processor E3-1245 (8M Cache, 3.30 GHz)
Intel® Core™ i7-6700 Processor (8M Cache, up to 4.00 GHz)

p.s. newer SATA interface and PCH too.
themiddlevoid.wordpress.com
User avatar
SuicideKing
Host
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 1:29 pm
Location: India/Netherlands

Re: Our server, K19-III, what is it?

Postby shado » Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:40 pm

Do we really need Windows Server? Doesn't the dedicated server work for linux equally well?

But in case we really need it I could provide a key and ISO for Windows Server 2012 R2 (Datacenter or Standard or Essential), since I got a few of them.
shado
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:01 pm

Re: Our server, K19-III, what is it?

Postby boberro » Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 pm

These babies come with licenses ;)
Delete this marker please. You're scaring the tank.
My screenshots are being added using Steam Screenshots Sharing Script™. You'll need Tampermonkey (Chrome) or Greasemonkey (Firefox) On Opera should be good to go..
User avatar
boberro
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 10:27 pm


Return to ArmA 3: Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest