New Editor vs. Scenario Editor

Party-approved discussion of ArmA 3

New Editor vs. Scenario Editor

Postby Stoner » Thu Feb 11, 2016 1:09 pm

In today's RPS article, BI discusses a new Editor for ArmA 3. https://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2016/02/11/arma-3-eden-3d-editor/#comment-2134725
I didn't see where terrain could be added/modified/deleted. The in-article video describes placing of objects, weapons, troops, etc.

As an ArmA 3 player (and loyal member of the the Party. All Hail Aziz!), my question to the Folk Scenario designers: what is the difference between this new editor and the current Scenario Editor that you use to create scenarios for our Sunday sessions?
Last edited by Stoner on Fri Feb 12, 2016 4:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Bitte töte mich nicht
User avatar
Stoner
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:53 am
Location: Dallas, Texas. USA

Re: New Editor vs. Scenario Editor

Postby AmishStrikeForce » Thu Feb 11, 2016 3:33 pm

"Aziz," comrade.

Terrain can be customized using the BI Tools download on Steam, but keep in mind that new/modified terrain is a "mod" and must be separately downloaded by each player (so it's not just one part of a mission that the server provides). The new editor does not allow terrain modification on the fly, though that would be epic.

The only real difference (aside from a few, cool functionality changes) between new/old editor is that the old is 2D and the new is 3D. To an outsider, this might seem like a simple change but to mission makers it's a HUGE improvement (and it should also make mission-making more digestible for newcomers).
Also known as Spanks Masterson
AmishStrikeForce
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 4:30 pm

Re: New Editor vs. Scenario Editor

Postby darkChozo » Thu Feb 11, 2016 5:24 pm

The biggest functional difference is that it's much, much, much easier to place objects accurately in the new editor. This doesn't really matter for placing units but is huuuuge for building bases and customizing existing areas with decorations/cover/whatever. To someone playing the missions, this means you're more likely to see enemy bases that actually feel like enemy bases and not just towns/compounds that happen to have enemies in them.

Beyond that, it's mostly convenience features. Easier access to stuff that had to be scripted before, undo/redo, search functionality, stuff like that. That stuff isn't earthshattering but it's nice to have.
darkChozo
Host
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 12:48 pm

Re: New Editor vs. Scenario Editor

Postby Stoner » Fri Feb 12, 2016 4:18 am

Thank you for the replies. I look forward to seeing what the Party's Cadre of modders will create to kill us more quickly.
Bitte töte mich nicht
User avatar
Stoner
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:53 am
Location: Dallas, Texas. USA

Re: New Editor vs. Scenario Editor

Postby Aqarius » Fri Feb 12, 2016 8:26 am

darkChozo wrote:The biggest functional difference is that it's much, much, much easier to place objects accurately in the new editor. This doesn't really matter for placing units but is huuuuge for building bases and customizing existing areas with decorations/cover/whatever. To someone playing the missions, this means you're more likely to see enemy bases that actually feel like enemy bases and not just towns/compounds that happen to have enemies in them.

Beyond that, it's mostly convenience features. Easier access to stuff that had to be scripted before
, undo/redo, search functionality, stuff like that. That stuff isn't earthshattering but it's nice to have.


Praise Gaben, finally!
[/allegedly]
Aqarius
Host
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:28 am
Location: Hobbiton, The Shire


Return to ArmA 3: Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron