Two quick questions about ACRE

Travel with the official FA tourism agency
Post Reply
User avatar
Thirith
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:29 am

Two quick questions about ACRE

Post by Thirith » Sun Jul 06, 2014 10:53 am

Since I'm hoping to join one of the V+ sessions soonish, I wanted to make sure that everything's set beforehand. If you guys could help me with the following questions, that'd be much appreciated:

1) How do you handle TS3 in terms of the version you're using? Can you install several versions of TS3, one that's fully updated and one that's the right version to use with ACRE? Or do you simply keep the older version that works with Direct Input and ignore any TS3 updates?

2) I've looked at a couple of guides on ACRE and I'm not entirely clear on the following: do I need to deactivate the VON keys in Arma 2? The guides I've found say so, but I haven't found anything to that effect on the Folk ARPS pages.

And here's a bonus question, just 'cause: any tips, suggestions, dire warnings re: installing the V+ mod set, setting up the mods, TS3, ACRE and all the things that are likely to go wrong?
"Until now we scraped along the ground like rats, but from now on, we soar. Like eagles. Yeah. LIKE EAGLES... ON... POGO STICKS." - Grim Fandango

User avatar
dancemoox
Posts: 269
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:48 am
Location: V+ Museum & Sanatorium

Re: Two quick questions about ACRE

Post by dancemoox » Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:26 am

I keep my TS3 as an older version 3.0.11. Some others keep an up to date TS3 version and have a second install (to another directory) that they use for V+.

As for VON keys, you don't need to do anything, the V+ server has VON disabled so default ACRE radio broadcast key (caps-lock) will only broadcast on the radio. You can unbind the VON key if you want to remove the little microphone symbol that shows up but that's just up to you.

Finally the reccomended method of installing the mod pack is with Play With Six, if you follow this guide you shouldn't have any issues (but can still ask for help) http://www.folkarps.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=51&t=1339

As for tips, make sure you run both ArmA and TS3 as admin and that you sacrifice your first born, you shouldn't have any issues then :zoidberg:
ramming speed!

User avatar
Thirith
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:29 am

Re: Two quick questions about ACRE

Post by Thirith » Mon Jul 07, 2014 3:16 pm

Thanks, dancemoox! I still shy away from Play With Six for Arma 2, since I don't find exactly it the most userfriendly program, even if its overall functionality is cool (especially auto-updates).

Crossing my fingers I'll be able to join one of the sessions soon, since I've yet to fully warm to Arma 3...
"Until now we scraped along the ground like rats, but from now on, we soar. Like eagles. Yeah. LIKE EAGLES... ON... POGO STICKS." - Grim Fandango

Post Reply